Monday 04 Jul 2022 | 00:53 | SYDNEY
What's happening on

Lowy Institute 2020 Media Award Presentation

Now in its eighth year, the Lowy Institute Media Award is Australia’s premier award for recognising excellence in foreign affairs journalism. It is presented to an Australian journalist or team working in print, broadcast or online media who has deepened the knowledge or shaped the discussion of international policy. The winner or winning team receives $20,000.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the Institute decided not to hold a Media Award Dinner in 2020. Instead, on Thursday 29 October, the Institute broadcast a 30-minute online video presentation featuring the finalists and their work.

The broadcast also included a conversation between Lowy Institute Executive Director Dr Michael Fullilove AM and The Hon. Peter Costello AC, Chairman of Nine Entertainment Co and former Treasurer of Australia, about the media landscape in 2020.


The winners of the 2020 Media Award were Sophie McNeill, Echo Hui and Jeanavive McGregor –for their two episodes of ABC’s Four Corners: “Rebellion”, about the fight for democracy in Hong Kong, and “Tell the World”, about the mass internment of Uighur people in Xinjiang, China.


The nominees were:

  • Angus Grigg and Jemima Whyte – nominated for a series of articles in The Australian Financial Review on the Horizon Oil corruption allegations in Papua New Guinea.

  • Kate Lyons – nominated for her work as Pacific Editor for Guardian Australia.

  • Hans van Leeuwen – nominated for his work as Europe Correspondent for The Australian Financial Review.

Back to all media