Wednesday 02 Dec 2020 | 04:59 | SYDNEY
What's happening on

2020 Lowy Lecture to be given by Fareed Zakaria

At a time of unprecedented focus on affairs in the United States, the Lowy Institute is delighted to announce that one of America’s leading observers of national and international politics – Fareed Zakaria – will deliver the 2020 Lowy Lecture.   

 

The annual Lowy Lecture is the Lowy Institute’s flagship event, at which a prominent speaker reflects on the world.

  

Fareed Zakaria is one of the world’s most interesting and influential observers of international affairs. Dr Zakaria has hosted CNN’s weekly foreign affairs program, Fareed Zakaria GPS, since 2008. He is a columnist for The Washington Post and a contributing editor at The Atlantic. He is the author of a number of bestselling books, the latest of which is Ten Lessons for a Post-Pandemic World.  

 

Dr Zakaria will speak about the turbulent year in world politics marked by COVID-19, growing rivalry between the United States and China, and the bitterly fought US election. He will deliver his Lecture to the Institute remotely, from the Council on Foreign Relations in New York. Dr Zakaria’s Lowy Lecture will be followed by a Q&A with the Lowy Institute’s Executive Director Dr Michael Fullilove.  

 

We are grateful for the support of the sponsors of the 2020 Lowy Lecture, BHP and Capital Group.

  

Registration for this event is essential. To receive your personal confirmation link, register here.   

 

Zoom time zones: 

SYDNEY: Thursday 26 November | 6:00pm AEDT 

WELLINGTON: Thursday 26 November | 8:00pm NZDT 

TOKYO: Thursday 26 November | 4:00pm JST 

BEIJING: Thursday 26 November | 3:00pm CST 

TEL AVIV: Thursday 26 November | 9:00am IST 

LONDON: Thursday 26 November | 7:00am GMT 

NEW YORK: Thursday 26 November | 2:00am EST 

Publication Date: 
Monday, November 16, 2020