Lowy Institute announces 2020 Media Award finalists

The Lowy Institute is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2020 Lowy Institute Media Award: 


  • Angus Grigg and Jemima Whyte – nominated for a series of articles in the Australian Financial Review on the Horizon Oil corruption allegations in Papua New Guinea. 

  • Kate Lyons – nominated for her work as Pacific Editor for Guardian Australia. 

  • Sophie McNeill, Echo Hui and Jeanavive McGregor – nominated for two episodes of ABC’s Four Corners: “Rebellion”, about the fight for democracy in Hong Kong, and “Tell the World”, about the mass internment of Uighur people in Xinjiang, China. 

  • Hans van Leeuwen – nominated for his work as Europe Correspondent for the Australian Financial Review. 



Now in its eighth year, the Lowy Institute Media Award is Australia’s premier award for recognising excellence in foreign affairs journalism. It is presented to an Australian journalist or team working in print, broadcast or online media who has deepened the knowledge or shaped the discussion of international policy. The winner or winning team receives $20,000. 


This year’s judges for the Award were:  


  • The Hon Julie Bishop, Chancellor of Australian National University and former Australian Foreign Minister  

  • Jenny Brockie, SBS journalist and presenter 

  • Louisa Lim, author, former China correspondent for BBC and NPR, and Senior Lecturer in Audiovisual Journalism at the University of Melbourne  

  • Mark Ryan, Executive Director of the Judith Neilson Institute and Lowy Institute Board Member 

  • Dr Michael Fullilove, Executive Director of the Lowy Institute 



Previous Media Award winners include Nick McKenzie and Sashka Koloff, Evan Williams, Matt Brown, Jewel Topsfield, Paul Maley, Hayden Cooper, and John Garnaut.  

In accordance with COVID-19 social-distancing policies, the Institute will not hold a Media Award Dinner in 2020. Instead, on Thursday 29 October at 5pm, the Institute will broadcast an online video presentation featuring the finalists and their work. Michael Fullilove will then host a short in-conversation with The Hon Peter Costello, Chairman of Nine Entertainment Co and former Treasurer of Australia, about the media landscape in 2020. 

Following the in-conversation, the winner of the 2020 Lowy Institute Media Award will be announced. 

Registrations for the online presentation on 29 October are now open. Please register here to receive your confirmation link. 

– Ends – 

For further information, please contact: 

Erin Bassett 

Director of Media and Communications  

E. ebassett@lowyinstitute.org  

M. +61 409 461 795